Flushed Away display

Kate got sent a picture of a tragically self-destructing display for the movie Flushed Away that was placed in a mall food court. I think this would have been funny if it weren’t, you know, melting. I don’t think Kate is a big fan of whole toilet-centric focus that campaign is taking but I think it works.

It’s Blog Consolidation Day!!!

I realized today that my online persona is stretch kind of thin and, truthfully, in a way that reflects the scattershot way both the web has developed and my relationship with said web has evolved. So I’ve deleted a bunch of blogs that I kind of started up without too much forethought and imported some or all of the content from them into other blogs. A WordPress-hosted version of MMM is gone. Gone. I’ve deleted all the Blogspot-hosted sites I had save for the old home of MMM, which means you’ll now see a WordPress-powered version of Movies on the Brain. Also, I imported the content from a blog I ran called Lefty Christian into the Chris Thilk WordPress blog I started but never really had a use for.

I realize this might be a bit confusing so here’s an easy to read list of blogs where you can find me. Things like MotB aren’t going to be updated that often but I didn’t want to delete it since I think there’s still potential for that concept. This list includes my work blog and such, it’s not just blogs I’m the sole proprieter of. Here you go:

So that’s the online life of me. If you really want to know what I think about the world you’ll find it by combining the posts I put up on these sites. I had been planning on doing this anyway but the decision was clinched when I saw someone from a pretty powerful PR firm, not the one I work for but another one where I’d like to know that people are seeing an accurate representation of me, run this search. I’m enough of a narcissist to be concerned with what people are seeing when they’re obviously looking for me. I know it will take a while for the changes I’ve made to show up in Google but you have to start sometime, right?

So if you have any questions just check out the Contact page and let me know.

–Chris

Another Second Life meetup Oct 12

Kami Huyse is letting everyone know that there will be another meetup of communications people in Second Life on Oct. 12. This one is being hosted by Text 100. Last month’s gathering, moderated by Kami and led by Jeremy Pepper, was a lot of fun and I had an opportunity to “meet” some cool people. Hope to attend this one as well.

Another Second Life meetup

Kami Huyse is letting everyone know that there will be another meetup of communications people in Second Life on Oct. 12. This one is being hosted by Text 100. Last month’s gathering, moderated by Kami and led by Jeremy Pepper, was a lot of fun and I had an opportunity to “meet” some cool people. Hope to attend this one as well.

The Prestige featurette

Check out the new behind-the-scenes featurette that’s been released for The Prestige either here at AOL Moviefone or below in a variety of Quicktime formats.

High (640 x 360)            http://www.totaleclips.com/Player/Bounce.aspx?eclipid=e29443&bitrateid=341&vendorid=600

Low (480 x 272)             http://www.totaleclips.com/Player/Bounce.aspx?eclipid=e29443&bitrateid=342&vendorid=600

Low (320 x 180)             http://www.totaleclips.com/Player/Bounce.aspx?eclipid=e29443&bitrateid=343&vendorid=600

Chains won’t carry Death of a President

A number of the country’s largest theater chains have declined to carry the controversail film Death of a President, which portrays the future assassination of President Bush. The chains are citing the touchy subject matter of the film, especially with a crucial mid-term election right on the horizon. There’s also the matter of the fact that it’s only been a matter of weeks since the movie’s debut at a recent film festival.

These two factors make it tricky to market the film. I see why they’re rushing the distribution since the movie has been the subject of almost constant commentary since it’s debut and they want to take advantage of that buzz. The filmmakers also obviously want to take advantage of election season, regardless of the political slant of the film, which is said to be fairly neutral, much like a number of films did back in 2004.

UPDATE: Wells has a political angle on this that I had suspected but didn’t have the time to do research on.

Round-up: 10/6/06

  • Religion has become a hard to define and sticky issue for the courts. This is because everyone is afraid of offending everyone else and everyone winds up acting like idiots.
  • One of my favorite guys, Bill Moyers, looks at how Evangelicals finally haven woken up and are embracing environmental issues. It’s almost realized God charged Adam with caretaking of the planet, something that’s been forgotten as political conservatives, who are beholden to big business, have influenced the agenda of religious groups.
  • Evangelical leaders are worried over a new study that shows teenagers aren’t sticking with churches.