They found their way home

Clapton and Winwood played together the other night in a set that included a good portion of Blind Faith’s one album as well as other good stuff. I’m a big fan of artists who enter the “Aw forget it – let’s just have fun while we can still do it” phase of their careers as these two have.

One thought on “They found their way home

  1. Chris,

    Perhaps I’m showing my age, but my wife, my best friend and I were at the August 26 1990 concert at Alpine Valley when Eric Clapton played a all out “lets have a blast” jam of “Sweet Home Chicago” with Stevie Ray Vaughn, Jimmie Lee Vaughan, Robert Cray, Buddy Guy, BB King, & I believe a few others (Beck?) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjoWXOrowCQ). It was incredible! SRV is said to have had such an awesome time himself in that last jam song that at an interview immediately afterwards (before fatefully switching helicopters) he still had goosebumps from the performance.

    I’ve read that the full set was: Collins Shuffle, The House is Rockin’, Tightrope, The Things I used to Do, Let Me Love Baby, Leave My Girl Alone, Pride n Joy, Wall of Denial, Riviera Paradise, Superstition, Couldn’t Stand The Weather, Goin’ Down, Crossfire, Voodoo Chile, Sweet Home Chicago.

    Of all the concerts I’ve seen, that one still is THE concert in my life, 18 years later.

    Mark Cummuta

Leave a Reply

