Restless

It’s hard not to read this story about the “Quarterlife Crisis” and all the hand-wringing that people in their late 20’s and 30’s are doing and not feel like we’re reaping what we, as a society, have sown over the last 40 years. Sex isn’t a big deal, religion is something to be viewed with skepticism, families are anchors weighing you down…these are all attitudes that are borne of the societal shifts that began in the 60’s and so were passed down to many of those who are now 25 – 35.

While I’ve certainly had my moments of wondering what the hell my life was “about” I don’t think I have it as bad as some of these people, due in large part to the fact that my parents were, let’s just be honest, too square to be part of the 60’s as they’re traditionally defined. So I was raised to value my religious beliefs, that work was something that was necessary and wasn’t actually supposed to be entertaining (though I’m lucky in that my job is) and that family ties were important. You keep you’re head down and work hard, try to be a good husband and father and that’s about what you can expect out of life.

I’m not saying there aren’t dreams and fantasies that I wish would come true. But if my life continued along the path that it’s on right now that would, in all honesty, feel about right and about like what I expected it to be when I was five years old.