Watched: This is 40

Saw this on Saturday. While I have some issues with the story itself (don’t sell the story as being universal and then have characters worried about needing to sell their house just before they go on a luxurious spa weekend and then host a catered 40th birthday party) I will say this is my favorite Judd Apatow film to date. I was mostly lukewarm on The 40 Year Old Virgin and Knocked Up. I liked some parts of Funny People but it didn’t gel for me as a whole film. While the choppy, vignette-heavy nature of This is 40 took some getting used to, about 30 minutes in I finally found the rhythm and it started to flow for me.

this_is_forty

Leave a Reply

