Much love for Nesmith

You’re goddamn right:

It pains me, just pains me, to consider how little credit this guy gets as a musician and songwriter—I’m sure it doesn’t bother him that much, he’s an extremely wealthy man, accomplished in many fields, but I’m upset for Papa Nez, goddamnit!

via Dangerous Minds | Monkee Mike Nesmith is one of the great underrated musical geniuses of our time.

I will tolerate nothing less than a full appreciation of Mike’s contribution not only to The Monkees but to what would eventually, decades later, become the alt-country scene. In my opinion he’s The Monkees’ George Harrison. Completely within the group but also able to have his work pulled out and have it absolutely on its own.

Leave a Reply

