Moviefone's Coming Attractions 5/12/05

Every week I get an email from Moviefone with a list of features they’re spotlighting. Here are some of the more interesting ones:

  • Watch the exclusive Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe trailer.
  • Star Wars: Unscripted features George Lucas and Hayden Christensen interviewing each other.
  • Check out the trailer for Cry Wolf. Never heard of this one but I’ll check it out soon.

–Chris

The Island Teaser Poster

Why exactly is this (or the one featuring Ewan McGregor’s face) a teaser? Isn’t a teaser supposed to, you know, tease something? I’d be interested to see where they could go from this with a theatrical version considering the teasers: A) Show an island, B) Show a character and C) Use the tagline.

I think it’s the inclusion of the Johansson’s and McGregor’s face that ruin it for me (marking the first time I can say that about Scarlett Johansson). Show me the tagline with an island and you’ve got a teaser. This seems like one element too many.

Thinking about this more I can see what the final version will look like. It will feature the island at the bottom, the tagline at the top and the exact same two actor images inbetween. Care to take any bets on how close that winds up being?

(Via ComingSoon.net)
–Chris

Shark Boy & Lava Girl Poster


sblgtease
Originally uploaded by MovieMarketingMadness.

Here’s why I like this poster: The bright colors clearly identify it as a kids flick, or at least one oriented toward kids. This is emphsized by the fact that it proclaims it’s “From the Director of ‘Spy Kids’”.Also, the way the graphic elements pop forward really emphasizes the fact that this movie is in 3-D.

Here’s why I don’t like the poster: “Smaller Heroes. Just As Super.” What? That one just doesn’t work for me. Seems stilted and awkward.

(Via ComingSoon.net)
–Chris

No Column This Week…


darthvader
Originally uploaded by MovieMarketingMadness.

…because I’m busy working on next week’s which will feature Revenge of the Sith. It’s going to be a long one and has actually required me to do some research. Never knew this writing thing would force me to any effort into it.

Stay tuned and rest assured the column will return next week. In the mean time my site stats have skyrocketed due to searches for the Harry Potter IV sneak peak, Chronicles of Narnia stuff and, for some reason, the new DC logo. Go figure.

–Chris

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Poster

I have a very clear memory of standing in line for a movie at a theater also playing the original TMNT flick. My buddies and I spent the time in line making fun of the neophytes going to see them Turtles. Good times, making fun of children.

Anyway, I do actually like this promotional image. It’s still a bit dark and imposing which is good. I also like that they kept the same lettering style for the name.

–Chris

Wallace & Gromit Teaser Poster


wallacegromittease
Originally uploaded by MovieMarketingMadness.

Take a gander at the teaser poster for the upcoming Wallace & Gromit feature. No there’s not much to the poster but hey, it’s Wallace & Gromit. It’ll be better than most other kids-oriented releases.

–Chris